Fanfiction Rec 10: A Gentleman’s Kiss

My favorite comic has ended, I mourn the end of MTMTE. When a series comes to an end many fans mourn and though I know the series will sort of continue on, the end of MTMTE for me feels like the end of an era.

300px-tflegends-allhailmegatronAll Hail Megatron was my own introduction to the IDW Transformers universe and I instantly loved the story. Since then I have read Transformers Robots in Disguise and More than Meets the Eye. These more mature transformers stories instantly dragged me in and if I could describe MTMTE I would say it honestly reads like a ‘Transformers Soap Opera’ and depending on how you feel about the genre of soap opera well you could say they are a guilty pleasure of mine. (I’m obsessed with Bold and the Beautiful and watch it every weekday afternoon)

This weeks Fanfiction Rec is a short and sweet one shot from the MTMTE universe that has a pairing that does not get as much love as other ships. Megatron X Rung.

A Gentleman’s Kiss by Tarnit tells the story of two socially awkward bots just enjoying themselves at a party. One of them is the type that can easily fade into the background and is easily forgotten, the other the former Decepticon Warlord repenting his past mistakes.

tf_mtmte_52_cvrriMTMTE has my favorite character arc for Megatron, from his introduction into the story to the very end he is a bot coming to terms with what he has done with his life, what he allowed it to become and the monster he truly was. There is a genuine friendship between him and Rung in the comic series because Rung is a Psychiatrist, something old Meg’s has probably needed for a while.

The sense of loneliness in these characters really shines in this short story and though nothing of a sexual nature happens it is a short and sweet read is something I stumbled upon in trying to fill the void that the end of MTMTE has left in me.

Leave a Reply

