My Hiatus and Future Return

Greetings and Salutations to all my lovely fellow fujoshi and fudanshi, it is Mistress of Yaoi and I’m not dead yet. I put a lot of pressure onto myself that I thought I was ready for earlier this month with the beginning of Junjou June which you will see is no longer here and you my followers deserve an explanation as to where that month of content has gone.

yeahthathappenssometimesyougetburntoutandsometimes_ecdb144f4ab576dbf5bf32439e5e33f5

To put it bluntly I must admit I burnt myself out big time in the last couple of months with writing and other projects and a lot of it had to do with me not wanting to deal with what I should have been dealing with and just working to keep my mind busy. The problem with this is of course I was bound to burn out eventually and that happened to me right after the London attacks, that is not the only reason but the final piece that broke me.

I have been doing a lot of soul searching over the last few years to come to terms with well, me and though I had already discussed it with some friends and my partner earlier this month I pretty much came out as non-binary to my mother very publicly… one Facebook. Luckily i have had no negative feedback from anyone so far and my mother has sort of been supportive (I don’t think she fully understands, but she says as long as I am happy that is all that matters to her). So where does this leave ‘Mistress of Yaoi’?

Well I am still very anti SJW and the whole forcing others to use my preferred pronouns discussion pretty much came down to ‘call me whatever the fuck you want, just treat me with the respect I treat you with’ which of course I know will piss of some people in the same situation as me but the truth is I did this for me. not for some cry for attention, not to start drama or some great crusade. At the end of the day this is about me being honest with me and nothing more.

I’m still an online fangirl or fanboy. I still love yaoi and anime and I am still me it is just me with a label now, ironic I know when I have said before how anti label I can be, but being hypocritical just makes me as flawed as every other person out there. The anime and manga reviews will return next month hopefully but will not be as often. I am aiming in the future for quality over quantity and that is why the Junjou Romantica season 1 review is gone. It was not up to my personal standard.

To all my followers I hope you will continue this blog into the future, and don’t worry Mistress of Yaoi is not going anywhere just yet!

7 thoughts on “My Hiatus and Future Return

  1. Can I just say I really loved this: ‘call me whatever the fuck you want, just treat me with the respect I treat you with’
    I think really, that’s the essence of it all and that kind of straightforward conversation could accomplish infinitely more than people debating pronouns. But hey, what do I know about anything…
    Anyway, I really enjoy your blog and look forward to future posts. And I hope things are well/get better for you personally. 🙂

    Like

    1. thankyou very much for your comment, i hate a lot of the drama about pronouns in the nonbinary and genderqueer community and perhaps in the future I will write a post on my thoughts on the whole thing. To me at least at the end of the day it does not come down to pronouns it comes down to simple self respect and respect for others

      Like

Leave a Reply

