Wotakoi It’s Difficult To Love An Otaku – Episode 1 Review

Can I just say this anime has the most adorable first episode I have seen in a long time? Seriously the last time I saw a first episode this adorable was when I first watched My Love Story! Plus when I found out the main character is a fujoshi well I just knew I had to check this one out.

In the first episode we are introduced to our adorable fujoshi, Narumi Momose who has had a miserable time lately. She left her previous job because her work colleagues found out she was not just an otaku but also a fujoshi, oh no! To make matters worse her most recent boyfriend has broken up with her for the same reason, but she is determined to make sure no one at her new job finds out about her hobby. That is until she bumps into Hirotaka Nifugi a former classmate and fellow otaku (though he is the gaming type) and he nonchalant in front of her new boss let’s the beans spill in casual conversation. Will this be her old job all over again?

wotaku-ni-koi-wa-muzukashii-0104

The set up and execution of this first episode was really entertaining and I do not want to spoil anything but the final conversation in the episode had my inner fangirl jumping for joy. I am so happy to see another anime that deals with being an otaku without being based on high school or collage students. The fact that the characters in this series are working adults makes their struggles a lot more relatable. When I meet new people especially those who have no interest in anime, I do worry in the back of my mind if they would judge me if they knew. You know, the weird shit I am into at times. This is another anime I will definitely continue watching this season and though it may not contend for my favorite of the season (Magical Girl Ore already has that title) it could be a close second.

2 thoughts on “Wotakoi It’s Difficult To Love An Otaku – Episode 1 Review

  1. Pingback: Page not found | Yaoi Playground

  2. Pingback: Yaoi Playground May 2018 Update! | Yaoi Playground

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.